History

 

Camping became a cornerstone of Y programming in 1885 with the aim to provide children with a positive developmental experience through making new friends, building confidence and growing in self-reliance. Those goals still hold true today.

Camp MacLean History

  • January 1940, Mr. and Mrs. M.H. MacLean donate a major gift to the YMCA of Metropolitan Chicago, expressing their desire that a new camp for boys be constructed in memory of their son, John Bartlett MacLean.
  • June 1940, 214 acres of land on Rockland Lake near Burlington, Wisconsin was purchased from the Consumers Ice Company. Construction of camp lasted through the summer of 1941.
  • The service of Dedication of Camp MacLean was held Sunday, July 27, 1941
  • 1941, first summer of operation, based out of the Austin YMCA branch of the YMCA of Metropolitan Chicago
  • 1948 through 1952 saw an increase in camp improvements including additional cabins, buildings and landscape improvements
  • Early 1970's saw the combination of boys camp and girls camp into the current co-ed summer program
  • Camp programming expands from summer use only to year-round camping for schools, Indian Guides, churches and scouts
  • Summer Day Camp provided for the Burlington Area